Help wanted! MA/CT/NY yarn stores!

Hello there,

I need your help! I have been visiting my boyfriend in the USA for quite some time, and I always leave with a bittersweet taste, as he just… doesn’t know where to find yarn stores. I am going to be there for almost 2 weeks in November, and I’m not coming back empty handed this time.

Not so long ago, I discovered through mostlyselftaughtknitter’s links that the cute little Starbucks where we always have coffee has a yarn store in the street behind it. This kind of thing really ticks me off.

Given that boyfriend won’t help unless I bribe him with socks and mittens, I need your help. Could you please let me know the yarn stores you buy stuff from in the following areas: MA (from south up to Boston), CT, CT/NY state line… and just in case, PA too as we may take a couple of days to visit Philly.

Many thanks in advance!

3 Responses to “Help wanted! MA/CT/NY yarn stores!”


  1. 1 Veronique July 2, 2007 at 3:16 pm

    I can give you a list of my favorite NYC stores, but only once you show a picture of Agnes! 😉

  2. 2 Nicole July 28, 2008 at 1:10 pm

    Here in Philly we have some great ones!

    Nangellini @ 8th and South St (unique yarns, hand painted and novelty, recycled silks)
    Sophie’s on 4th on Fabric Row (great basics and cozy shop)
    Rosie’s on Locust and 21st (tons of Kiogu, Manos, Rowan, and some great hand dyed)
    Loop (luxury yarn in every color, frosty service)

  3. 3 Robynn August 29, 2008 at 1:59 pm

    Have you tried Knitmap.com?


Leave a Reply

