Repeat with me – things can only get better

I think I’m going through some sort of bad luck spell or the world has decided to go against me. Let me list my last 24h:

  1. Lost one of my Chevalier mittens and looked like a right idiot emptying my handbag on Southwest trains
  2. While at Socktopus, I worked 4 rounds of Leyburn – wrong pattern. rip and start again.
  3. Missed the bus when I got out of Socktopus, waited for over 10min for the next one.
  4. Southern trains changed schedules meaning there’s no train service in my area from 20.45 to 21.16. Guess what time I got to the station? Ah yes, 20.46.
  5. Had a horrible mean disgusting Cornish pastry for whatsomemaycall dinner. Burnt my fingers while eating it and had to drink my Coke fast to disguise the horrible taste. Next time I’d rather miss another train and go find the nearest Subway.
  6. Got home, wide awake from Coke, went to bed too late, which leads to ….
  7. … waking up late and realising  there’s no time to wash my hair and dry it, so  hair is going up in bun today…..
  8. … and you get out of the shower to find your boy in the kitchen looking like he’s felted your socks and doesn’t know quite how to tell you: there’s not enough milk to make porridge. Balls.
  9. I decide to pick my wars, don’t get mad about it and say “well, at least there’ll be enough for coffee”. Boil kettle to realise there’s not even enough milk to have coffee for one. Consider tossing coin to see which one of us gets coffee, decide it’s unfair, we both go without coffee and are in a bad mood. Our blood is 85% caffeine, 15% water, so we REALLY are in a bad mood.
  10. Get dressed – rip tights. Find new tights.
  11. Getting dressed still. Can’t find shoes. Look around the mess and realise I’ve had SUCH a bad time so far I’m going to work in my Uggs and the world can bite my derriere.
  12. Look around for mittens. Ah yes. Remember #1?
  13. Get to train station. Train is late. Pick your wars…
  14. Clapham Junction rolls around, missed connection. Decide to pay for overpriced coffee as to avoid getting thrown out of station for foul withdrawal mood.
  15. Arrive at work. Forgot my glasses. I can’t pick my wars anymore. I want to go home and hide under the duvet.
  16. Open drawer, pick up laptop, dock laptop, boot laptop. Look for piece of paper that slid through first drawer to second drawer. Put hand in… touch wool? MITTEN!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  17. Open Notes. Email from boss in inbox. Working from home as feeling unwell.

Will  have headache by end of day. But not being bossed helps. Finding mitten definitely helps.

Leyburn socks are 1in into the leg. Something is something, right?

4 Responses to “Repeat with me – things can only get better”


  1. 1 Ali January 16, 2009 at 10:33 am

    {{{{{hugs}}}}

    But hey: MITTEN!!!!!

    • 2 Ruth January 16, 2009 at 11:19 am

      Thanks hun! I was in SUCH a mood when I got in, especially after not finding my glasses, but I even jumped a little when I found the mitten…

  2. 3 Laura January 16, 2009 at 2:02 pm

    Oh my God! Why do these things happen all at once? Yay for finding your mitten though!

  3. 4 Ana Belén January 16, 2009 at 2:37 pm

    Hola Ruth!
    Espero que sea cierto y que todo vaya a mejor 😉
    Respecto a tu excursión a P&M woolcraft…. se que no debería…. pero si ves una fibra increiblemente bonita y suave (que seguro la ves) porfi cogemela. Confío en tu buen gusto.
    Por cierto, estoy deseando que llegue febrero para recibir el primer envio del club de fibra.
    Que emocion…


Leave a Reply

